Snapchat, a photo and video-sharing social media application has some security features to safeguard users. One such feature is the ability to block someone from your snaps. If you have been wondering how to block someone on Snapchat, your confusion is over.
At the end of this blog post, you will understand:
– Reasons to block someone on Snapchat
– Things to expect when you block someone on Snapchat
– How you can tell that you have been blocked
– Different ways to block someone on Snapchat
– If you can block someone that isn’t your friend on Snapchat
– Maximum number of people you are allowed to block on Snapchat
Why Block Someone on Snapchat
There are several reasons to block someone on Snapchat or other social media websites. The world has a fair share of toxic people and getting rid of such people around your space helps your mental health. You may want to block someone to avoid abuse or cyberbullying, to allow time to heal from a trauma, or just to protect your privacy.
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
A lot happens when you block someone on Snapchat. This singular act will cause both of you to be removed from each other’s friends list. Your usernames will no longer be seen when they search. Another thing that happens is that the blocked accounts can no longer view your snaps, and stories or chat with you. That said, you can still be contacted by someone you have blocked on Snapchat through other means.
How to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat
There are a couple of ways to know whether someone blocked you on Snapchat and they have been enumerated below:
– An easy way to know if you have been blocked by someone on Snapchat is to check your chat history. If you have had chats in the past with the account, the chats will disappear when you are blocked.
– Search for full name or username. When you are blocked, you will no longer see the username and full name of the person that blocked you.
– Use another account to search for the full name and username. If you find it, it’s very likely that you have been blocked by the user.
How to block someone on Snapchat
There are some ways to achieve the same result on Snapchat. You can block someone through search, stories, and chat. We will explain each method below.
How to block someone on Snapchat via the Search bar
– Launch the Snapchat app and select the search bar
– Search for the username that you want to block
– When the username appears, press on it for a long time to display some menu options
– Go to the advanced option by choosing “More”
– Then, select the “Block” button and confirm your selection.
How to block someone on Snapchat via Stories
– Fire open your Snapchat application and head to your Stories
– Long press on the story of the account you want to block
– Click on “More” to access the advanced option
– Select the “Block” button and confirm your action
How to block someone on Snapchat via Chat
– Open the Snapchat app and move to the chat list
– Locate the user you want to block in the chat list. You may not find the user here if you have not had any conversation with the user before.
– Click and hold the user for long for a menu option to pop up
– Choose “More” to see the advanced options
– Select the “Block” option and confirm that you want to block the account
Will someone know when you block them on Snapchat?
Snapchat does not inform users when they are blocked. However, they may notice they have been blocked when conversations stop coming and snaps stop showing up. This may cause them to dig deeper into the cause of the sudden disappearance of snaps and chats.
How to block someone on Snapchat without them knowing
Blocked users don’t know that they are blocked. They don’t get a notification indicating they are blocked. When you block someone, they will no longer see your activities on the app and may suspect they have been blocked. You can block and unblock them at the same time. Doing this allows them to see your username and full name when they make a search even though you are no longer friends with them.
How to block someone on Snapchat who isn’t your friend
The bad news is that you cannot block someone that is not already on your friends’ list. So, if you must block someone on Snapchat, you have to first add them as friends. Alternatively, you can use your privacy setting to choose to only receive snaps from friends. That way, those that are not friends with you cannot send you snaps.
Maximum number of people you can block on Snapchat
There is currently no cap on the number of people you can block on Snapchat. Go ahead and do your blocking without fear or favour.